Huckabee Attacks My Faith

I am a pretty typical conservative voter, I embrace just about all the major issues that conservativism stands for. I still am not sure who I will give my vote to yet for President in 2008, but I am keeping up with the candidates the best I can. I like Mike Huckabee. He isn’t the perfect candidate, none of them are, but Huckabee at least for a while was higher on my list than Mccain and Thompson. But today I was dissapointed by the man, and it is now very unlikely that he will ever recieve my vote.
In an interview with the New York Times that will be printed this Sunday Mike Huckabee asks “Don’t Mormons believe that Jesus and the devil are brothers?” Sorry Mike, your strategic attempt to sound innocent just makes things worse. You are an ordained Baptist minister from Arkansas, there is no way you are not aware of what Mormons believe. This is one of the most overused “shock” statements out there, and it is really disappointing to see you using it. What in the world does this have to do with politics anyway?
Only a few days ago Mitt Romney raised the bar considerably with his fantastic speech about “Faith in America” in which he correctly described the role that religion plays in America. Mike Huckabee has successfully lowered that same bar back down to where it was before. This attack on Romney’s faith was deliberate, it was calculated, it was not an innocent question.
Mike Huckabee was in Salt Lake City just last week addressing the Southern Baptist Convention. This convention is obviously held in SLC for a reason, and anti-mormon literature is handed out and sold at these things. You are fooling noone Mr. Huckabee.
And with that one short question, Mr. Huckabee has lost my vote. An attack on Romney’s faith is an attack on mine.

Sargon

This entry was posted in ..

Leave a Reply

