Eisegesis Problem

Just for fun…

 

This entry was posted in ..

5 comments on “Eisegesis Problem

  1. Haha, did you make that yourself?

  2. James says:

    Yes I made this. I got the idea from a similar image which I tried to improve on: http://cathapol.blogspot.com/2010/08/sola-scriptura-error-message.html

    I think it is a little blurry, so when I get some spare time I’ll see if I can find a way to clean it up.

  3. cathapol says:

    Speaking of eisegesis – I was doing some research on “God himself was once as we are now, and is an exalted man, and sits enthroned in yonder heavens.” (Source) and found in a footnote/link on an LDS page this statement: “To say God was once a man refutes both Psalm 90:2 and Moroni 8:18 in the Book of Mormon. ” http://mrm.org/topics/documents-speeches/king-follett-discourse/exalted-man. So I ask, do Mormons believe “God himself was once as we are now, and is an exalted man…and you have got to learn how to be Gods yourselves” – or do they deny it based upon Psalm 90:2 and Moroni 8:18? Was this sermon of Joseph Smith an invention by himself and one LDS members reject?

    Scott<<<
    aka: CathApol

  4. James says:

    Scott,

    Just to be clear, the statement you are quoting (referring to Psalm 90:2 and Moroni 8:18) is from MRM and is not a “LDS page”. MRM is an anti-Mormon ministry.

    Mormons have a variety of views regarding God’s history. Some of them, I’d argue, conflict with those passages. Not all of them do. These two posts are relevant to this topic:

    https://lehislibrary.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/lds-views-of-gods-past/

    https://lehislibrary.wordpress.com/2008/12/24/psalm-902/

    • cathapol says:

      Thank you James for correcting me on that MRM site. I’ll keep that in mind. I thought it ironic that it was contradicting Joseph Smith. I’ll check out the links you have provided.

      Thanks again!

      Scott<<<
      aka: CathApol

Leave a Reply

